top of page
  • Writer's pictureMike Hiler

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

So..Now what? We have this giant thing sitting in our driveway, taking up two spots. There were some things that we knew going into the transaction that needed attention. In order of priority:


1) Tires. They look amazing. They have perfect tread, the sipes are still present. However, checking the date code (you all know how to do that, right? Here is a link: https://www.tirebuyer.com/education/how-to-determine-the-age-of-your-tires )

showed that the tires were manufactured in 2004! That is just way too old. So...it needs tires and an appointment is already set.


2) Full Tune up. Anytime I buy a used vehicle, I go through and replace all the fluids. Oil, Transmission, Coolant, Brakes Fluid, etc. I also do plugs, wires, fuel filters, and try to catch up on as much "routine" maintenance as I can. I do this for peace of mind, as you never know when the last time was that it was done.


3) The Generator. It doesn't start. Push the button and it goes "CLICK!" The solenoid is engaging, but the starter is not turning it over. I suspect the starter, as I can spin the flywheel.


4) It has an Exhaust manifold leak. Really loud and annoying, but not mission critical.


Since we've gotten it home a couple other things have popped up.


1) We had a small overheating problem on the way. Turned out it was low on coolant. Not sure where it went. There was no white smoke and no milky oil. We filled it up and made it the 65 additional miles without incident. Needless to say, I will be having a pressure check done.


2) Its leaking transmission fluid onto the driveway. Not bad, but I cannot tolerate a leaky vehicle. Probably will get fixed with a new pan gasket, but I haven't crawled underneath to degrease and isolate yet.


3) The fill port for the water tank seems like it might leak. I haven't tried filling yet, but digging around showed a plastic bag taped to the inlet...Suspicious.


4) The Fridge for sure doesn't work on 12V. It might work on 120V. I have not tried the LP System yet.


5) LP. I turned the valve on and smelled gas...so I shut it back off. I will have to have that looked at. Hopefully nothing major.


Now, we get to the lists that Jessy wants to get done. She is the decorator and interior designer. So far, her list is as follows:


1) Headliner. Someone stuck wallpaper up there. The adhesive has released and its starting to fall down.


2) Green carpeting will need to go. It doesn't match the decor and its kinda stained and nasty.


3) Fridge doors are straight outta the 80's. Remember that Lighting/Marble pattern that was so "cool?" Yeah, it has not stood the test of time. We will either cover them or buy replacement panels.


4) The wall paneling is also wallpaper and not matched. She will be changing that, I'm sure.


That is it for now...


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page