top of page
  • Writer's pictureMike Hiler

How we separate the men from the boys

Updated: Nov 5, 2019

This project is starting to take its toll and to quote the Carpenters, "We've only just begun." I started the tune up. Pulled the cap and rotor and was faced with this...


Rusty Advance

This is the underside of the rotor, where all the "magic" happens. Those rusty pieces are weights and springs that expand as the rotor spins. The faster it spins, the further out they fly. As the weights move to a larger diameter, they change the relationship of the rotor to the distributor shaft, which changes the timing of the engine.


To explain timing briefly, the advance mechanism (the rusty parts) delays the spark plug firing event (called advance because it happens earlier in the cycle) to account for higher engine RPMs. Higher RPM means the pistons move faster in their bores. Since the ignition event takes time, you need to start it earlier when things start moving faster. You want the plug to ignite the fuel/air mixture before the piston starts its downward travel on the power stroke. If the spark happens too late, like when the piston is at the top of its travel (called top dead center or TDC) or later, the explosion doesn't exert as much force on the piston, so the engine creates less power. If the spark plug fires too early, you get a "ping" which means the force is trying to push the piston down while the crankshaft is still moving it up. This is really bad and can cause engine failure.


Anyway, my advance mechanism is stuck. Not completely, but it doesn't move freely enough to advance timing. That means that my engine is not performing to its full potential. So, I will be installing a new distributor to the tune of 200+ dollars.


Next, I pulled the radiator out. Not that big of deal by itself. Came out pretty nicely, in fact. However, I pulled the oil cooler lines off and noticed that the oil seems "milky." This is bad, because it typically means that water has mixed with the oil. I don't know where its coming from...most likely a head gasket or some sort of leak in the intake.


Oh and since I'm replacing the radiator, I'm going to refresh the whole cooling system. New fan clutch, Water pump, Thermostat. Since I'll have the front of the engine torn apart, I'm putting a new timing gear set in too. I might have to name this project "I might as well."


If you're keeping score at home, we're now replacing the full cooling system (Includes radiator, water pump, thermostat), distributor, plugs, plug wires, exhaust manifold gaskets, PCV system, Timing chain, all the belts, intake manifold gaskets (including blocking the exhaust cross-over), and head gaskets. WAY more work than I anticipated, but I will have a real good idea of the condition of the engine now. Peace of Mind is priceless.


A couple of pictures of all the new parts...



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page